Short biographical sketch of Leonard Evans ( click here for more details )

Custom Search

*** NEW ITEM ***

New paperback copies of classic 1991 Traffic Safety and the Driver available ($29.95), Kindle ($9.99)

Information on 2004 book  

How to Purchase Traffic Safety

Latest Additions

Leonard Evans - Bio
, talks, etc)


Extra Publications

*** Alcohol Calculator ***


Specific Topics

Visit to Titanic


Professional and family

Super-8 Family Movies

Traffc Safety Equipment and Products

Sidebar updated 2014-06-15  **


Leonard Evans is an internationally renowned traffic safety expert.  His degrees include a doctorate in physics from Oxford University, England.  He has presented traffic-safety lectures, including 22 Keynote Addresses, in 30 countries.  His 195 publications include Traffic Safety (2004) and his distinctly different Traffic Safety and the Driver (1991).  Traffic Safety is used in more than 50 countries.  It is a college course text in many, including many US universities.

Dr. Evans' research has received awards from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the International Traffic Medicine Association (ITMA), the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM), the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES), the International Association for Accident and Traffic Medicine, the Detroit Institute of Ophthalmology, the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), and General Motors (GM).  

He has been president of ITMA and AAAM, the only individual to have headed both organizations.  He is president of Science Serving Society, a one-man organization he formed in 2000 to continue research and other professional activities after completing a 33-year research career with GM.  

Dr. Evans was a Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer (2001-2), and recipient of the SAE’s Lloyd L. Withrow Distinguished Speaker Award (2005, and also 2006).  He is a fellow of the SAE, a fellow of HFES, a fellow of the AAAM, President Emeritus of the ITMA, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Revised 2014-04-01